Review: Leaders Amino Moisture Mask

A few months ago I decided to buy some Korean sheet masks after basically figuring out that the ones made here aren’t particularly great, one of the ones that caught my eye was the Leaders Amino Moisture Mask, despite the fact that I haven’t heard of the company before after reading a few reviews I decided to buy a pack of 10 (they were half price so I figured why not.) After trying it out I realised that I may have found a sheet masks that didn’t leave me disappointed.

The mask claims to be for dull, dry skin as well as ageing skin. I don’t have ageing skin so I can’t test that claim out however I do have dry skin, and this mask is great for adding moisture.

The mask is pretty easy to put on, it’s a little big on my face but that’s pretty normal for sheet masks, the mask is really wet, which isn’t uncommon for sheet mask, but what did surprise me was the texture of the serum, the texture is pretty difficult to explain, as I was rubbing it into my hand it felt like I had a layer of water surrounding my skin, my hands also felt slippery (even while I was trying to spread the serum out) until it starts to sink in. While the instructions say to leave it on for 15-20 minutes I usually just put my sheet masks on until they’re slightly dry since it seems like I’m getting the most out them, and usually I can have this mask for about 30 minutes before I take it off, once I take it off my skin feels amazing, it looks like I’ve basically splashed water over my face.

The one thing about this mask that I think may be a negative is that I wouldn’t recommend using it during the day time or just before getting ready, I usually use it in my night time routine after my serums, the reason for this is that the serum in the mask takes quite a few minutes to sink into the skin, I don’t particularly mind this because it doesn’t feel sticky or unpleasant, it’s just that you can feel the product on your skin for a bit longer than other masks.

Another plus of this mask is that it not only hydrates my skin really well, it also makes my skin look brighter and more awake. While this is only a temporary result (usually until the next day) I still think it’s pretty nice.

Before buying it I did look at the ingredients and here’s the cosDNA, as you can see there aren’t any red signs. A selling point of the mask is that it contains 17 different amino acids which is meant to moisturise and protect your skin. I haven’t researched a lot about amino acids in skincare but from some of the research I have done the mask does contain amino acids that are meant to hydrate (e.g. lysine) also it contains amino acids that are antioxidants which reduce wrinkles (e.g. histidine) and other amino acids that restore skin after being exposed to UV radiation (e.g. proline) these are also high up the ingredients list which means there are higher proportions of them. The mask also contains ceramide. Ceramide is a really important ingredient because it helps restore the skin’s lipid barrier, this improves water retention therefore it helps reduce dry skin. The mask also contains Acer Saccharum Extract and Portulaca Oleracea Extract both of these extracts are meant to reduce signs of ageing. I have to say I was pretty impressed with the ingredients list.

I really enjoy this mask, I use it at least once a week and am also really excited to try the other masks out from Leaders. Also I like this serum so much that if they made it into an actual bottled version I probably would buy that as well.

But I have to admit that using it once a week probably doesn’t have a very big impact on my skin as a whole, and unless I was using it every day or every other day I can’t comment on whether it has lasting effects. But I do find that this is a criticism for all sheet masks and that usually they give you temporary results, but I don’t really mind as I like using them on days when I feel down or when my skin just needs a little bit more.

My rating:

Overall score: 4/5
Would I buy again: Yes

If you would like to buy this mask then you can get it from the leaders website,  from peachandlily or from roseroseshop (these sell out pretty fast but the single version is available from the leaders website!)

2 thoughts on “Review: Leaders Amino Moisture Mask

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

