Review: The ordinary skincare

The Ordinary has been one of the most talked about skincare brands this year, it makes sense as the company’s focus on ingredients, it’s affordability and it’s simple but effective approach leave very little else to be desired. I’ve talked about The ordinary before in my skincare routine and I mentioned how I was very much in love with the Niacinamide serum. Including the Niacinamide serum, I’ve also bought the Hyaluronic serum, the rosehip oil and the Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate cream. There are several other products I want to try out but because I try to only buy items when I’m running out of something else I’m gonna have to (painstakingly) wait. These products include Buffet (I’ve made it my mission to incorporate more amino acids into my skin care), the Marula oil and the 5% lactic acid serum. This review is gonna include a little bit about the Ordinary with little reviews of the products I’ve tried.

The Ordinary was started in 2016 and it’s parents company is Deciem which hosts other skincare brands like Hylamide and NIOD. Deciem calls itself the ‘Abnormal beauty company’ I think that this is very true to the ordinary brand, it’s abnormal in a way that it allows people to try out certain ingredients who wouldn’t usually be able to as they are sold at very expensive prices while still being effective. Caroline Hirons did a interview with Brandon Truaxe who’s the founder of Deciem which explains how they are able to sell their products at such a low price compared to other companies who sell them for £40 +, if you want to check it out then here’s the interview. But the gist of it is that because most of the ingredients are very cheap to buy, e.g. in the interview Brandon mentions that Niacinamide is only $10 per kg so most of the cost doesn’t go to the ingredients but rather for testing and formulating.

I won’t lie the ordinary is probably one of my favourite skincare brands, it may even be my favourite brand that isn’t Asian beauty (COSRX may take my all time favourite spot!!) I like the focus on one main ingredient and also it is a brand that I can spend money on without feeling guilty, I think if your skincare routine is very focused on ingredients and you don’t mind a multi step routine then the ordinary brand may work for you as well. I’ve already mentioned that for me I don’t mind using several products for several concerns rather than trying to find a miracle product (which many high end companies claim to have) to solve every single issue because to me it just doesn’t make sense!

Also before I start my review on the actual products I wanted to mention that the Ordinary has won several awards including the 2017 CEW Best New Brand as well as the Best Anti-Ageing brand by the Sunday times, which I think is really cool since it is so new to the skincare scene.

Anyway let’s get to the actual reviews:

Mini review: Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%

I’ve talked about my love for this product, but before trying this serum out I used a toner that contained Niacinamide and fell in love with how it made my skin look, my skin was brighter, the dullness had gone away and instead I had glowing skin, while I wasn’t sure whether this effect was due to the Niacinamide or something completely different I decided that I needed to try it out more! After finding out about the ordinary and seeing they had a niacinamide serum I immediately bought it.

The serum is water based but it is slightly thicker however as you pat it in it absorbs instantly. I’ve heard that it can lead to piling but I’ve never really experienced it myself (this may be because I only use around 2 drops and pat it in rather than rubbing it on my face. I use the Niacinamide just after toning and only in my morning routine (as I use a AHA in my night time routine and using niacinamide with AHAs could lead to flushing) it leaves my face slightly dry but it’s not uncomfortable in any way, and it’s easily fixed as afterwards I apply a hydrating serum. I think since using this serum it has helped my skin so much!! Not only do I think niacinamide has helped the break outs I used to have, my skin has felt extremely balanced and it has definitely helped fading my dark spots (even before I started using vitamin c and other dark spot fading treatments), niacinamide is such an amazing ingredient for skincare as it can help repair the skin barrier which then leads to better moisture retention so it is extremely useful for people who have dehydrated skin. It also has anti-inflammatory properties which are great with dealing with break outs, it’s great at fading dark spots and can help even out skin tone, and it’s wonderful for mature skin  as it can help reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. This serum from the ordinary is an amazing way of getting niacinamide into your skincare routine.

9d35d395-7054-44ab-b56f-8a79bbf3c18d

I wanted to show how much the niacinamide has helped my skin improve so below are pictures of my skin before I started using niacinamide and the second picture is from about a month ago! I think the change is pretty obvious! I had so many painful pimples that were due to inflammation and after using niacinamide they started clearing up since then I have had maybe a handful of pimple that disappear pretty quickly.

img_7143

Mini review: Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5

This is another product I mentioned in my skincare routine, I also started using this November last year however after I finished the bottle I decided not to repurchase, I’ve mentioned before how I really love hyaluronic acid as it does such a good job hydrating my face. This is because hyaluronic acid is a humectant, and as it’s already present in our skin there is very little chance of it causing irritation, hyaluronic acid can hold up to 1000 times it’s weight in water so it’s understandable why it’s so popular for people with dry or dehydrated skin! But it can be drying if you live in drier environments because the hyaluronic may push the water content in your skin into the environment which is why it’s important to use an occlusive that can proper seal in the moisture!!

The ordinary’s hyaluronic acid also comes in a little glass bottle with a dropper, it has a watery texture but once you pat it into your skin it becomes quite sticky, this was the main reason I really didn’t like the serum, I found that it left a really uncomfortable sticky feeling that took a quite a few minutes to disappear. But I think that the serum itself it really nice, I used it every day during my morning and night time routine just after toning, and I found that my skin was much more plump and hydrated. Also after I stopped using it while I was trying to find something similar I found that my skin did feel quite dry which means that serum was definitely working.

Overall I think this is a really good serum if you can get past the sticky feeling which I just couldn’t! I think this could be used by all skin types as it is water based so people with dehydrated oily skin could also use it!

5529a57c-4102-42eb-983f-4e6067f9c40d

Mini review: 100% Organic Cold-Pressed Rose Hip Seed Oil

I got this rosehip oil about a month ago, I use it every day in the morning just before my moisturiser or sometimes I mix it with my moisturiser. Rosehip oil is high in linoleic acid which is really good for balancing oily skin, it’s also referred to as a dry oil. It contains loads of vitamins, such as vitamin A and vitamin C. The ordinary rosehip oil has an orange/brown colour, it has a slight smell that I think some people might find unpleasant but I don’t really mind it.

I’ve been wanting to try this rosehip oil for months but it has been sold out until I found it on the ASOS website. Rosehip oil is meant to be great at fading dark spots (because of the vitamin C), and moisturising, it can also help protect the skin from UV damage. I think this oil is great, I love using it alone underneath my moisturiser or mixed in with it, as it hydrates my skin so well, it doesn’t make my skin feel too oily and it also gives me a nice glow! I love how my skin feels after using it as it feels extremely plump and soft! I can’t tell if it’s fading my dark spots because I’m using quite a few products to target my dark spots however for £9 this is a really great oil.

ac4f52c9-4929-4643-bd0e-6238541fc169

 

Mini review: Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate 10% (MAP)

I’ve been wanting to try vitamin C for a long time but I’m a little to scared to try l-ascorbic acid because the ones on the ordinary website are pretty high concentration and I’d feel more comfortable trying MAP which while being less potent it is much more stable and it can be used with Niacinamide (which l-abscorbic acids can’t’ be used with!) I’ve been using this for around a month as well, it is a cream that I apply before moisturising, it is quite thick and leaves a slight oily texture behind therefore I don’t know if I would recommend it for oily skin. Vitamin c is meant to brighten dark spot therefore help even out skin tone, again I can’t talk about whether or not this has helped brighten my dark spot, however my dark spots are slowly fading away and this is probably due to me using Niacinamide, MAP, the rosehip oil and AHA. But I really like how moisturising this product is.

f686b174-9e58-427c-9b1a-2ccdf0598e64
Overall I really like the ordinary brand, it’s a great place for people who are trying to get into skincare to find certain ingredients that might really work for their skin! It’s affordable and doesn’t try to make extreme claims instead it’s really simple and it works!

 

One thought on “Review: The ordinary skincare

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

