Review: COSRX Ultimate Moisturising Honey Overnight Mask

I’ve been using the COSRX Honey overnight mask for over a month now, and I wanted to do a little review on it.

But first…what is an overnight mask?

You may have never heard of an overnight mask, it is basically the last step of a night time skincare routine after your moisturiser or instead of a moisturiser. It’s basically there to hydrate your skin while you sleep, as well as perhaps firm your skin or reduce the appearance of ageing. I actually really like the idea of overnight masks since when I wake up I have my skin is extremely dry and I’ll try any product that will prevent that.  Also sleeping masks can be done everyday without being as time exhausting as a sheet mask or a wash off mask since you don’t have to wait 10 or 20 minutes and then remove it, especially when I came home from work and I want to go to sleep straight away a sleeping mask is easier to do than a sheet mask.

So what is the COSRX Ultimate Moisturising Honey Overnight mask about?

Image result for cosrx ultimate Moisturizing Honey Overnight Mask sokoglam

The COSRX honey overnight mask is advertised as a 3-in-1 mask, it can be used as either a sleeping mask, a wash-off mask or a cream. I’ve only really tried it as a sleeping mask and a cream. It also contains 85% propolis which is meant to be anti-bacterial, anti-inflammatory and have properties of an antioxidant. It’s recommended for oily skin that is dehydrated and skin that is very red or needs soothing. It also claims that it doesn’t feel sticky or oily and you are able to stick this in the fridge to further increase the soothing effect.

So onto the review…

As mentioned before I’ve been using it for over a month, and it’s been amazing. I do my usual night time skincare routine then apply my moisturiser and finally apply this on top. It comes in a jar and the texture of this is very jelly like, if you shake the container it will move exactly how jelly moves and it has a yellow colour to it as well. When you apply it to your skin there’s a cooling sensation which feels really nice too. I spread a thick layer of it on my face and while it does feel very wet it doesn’t feel uncomfortable and it absorbs pretty quickly into the skin. It doesn’t have a strong smell either which is a plus!

The ingredients list for the mask is simple, it only contains 17 ingredients which is one of things that I really like about cosrx, they have a really small ingredients list, also instead of water they usually use extracts for example for this one they use propolis extract which I think is great!

Here is the CosDNA, nearly all of the ingredients are green except two and there are no red flag ingredients.

Propolis Extract, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Betaine, 1,2-Hexanediol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Arginine, Cassia Obtusifolia Seed Extract, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Carbomer, Sodium Hyaluronate, Bees Wax, Allantoin, Panthenol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Adenosine

Notable ingredients

  • Propolis Extract:
    • Research has shown that propolis is antibacterial and anti inflammatory which makes it great for acne prone skin. There is also research to suggest that it is an anti oxidant which can therefore help fight free radicals.
  • Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Betaine, Panthenol:
    • all of these are humectants which allow moisture to be drawn into the skin.
  • Arginine:
    • an amino acid that is also an antioxidant.
  • Cassia Obtusifolia Seed Extract:
    • believed to be skin conditioner.
  • Bees Wax:
    • Bees wax is a great occlusive which seals in moisture, it is also an emollient.
  • Allantoin:
    • it is a skin soother, and can also protect your skin.
  • Adenosine:
    • anti-ageing ingredient

The ingredients are really good as it contains antioxidants, humectants and occlusives which are great to hydrate your skin and seal in moisture to prevent water loss while you sleep, while also fighting radicals to prevent ageing. The only issue with the ingredients is that some people can be allergic to propolis, bees wax so if that may be the case this may not be the mask for you.

When I use this I find that I wake up with really nice and soft skin that feels hydrated, there’s even a little glow to my skin that wouldn’t be there unless I was using this. My skin doesn’t feel sticky and the mask is completely absorbed into my skin. I’ve used other sleeping mask that have actually dried my skin out however this one does nothing of the sort. I also don’t find this mask to be greasy or oily feeling so I believe it’d be great for people with oily skin. And I do think it does live up to its claims since it does feel soothing and hydrates my skin immensely.

The only issue I have is that currently it’s hay fever season which means I blow my nose a lot, so it tends to be very sensitive and when I apply this around my nose there is a very slight burning sensation that disappears after a while but it is slightly uncomfortable. Another issue is the jar packaging, I would rather it be in a tube since it would be easier to dispense and I feel it would be more hygienic but I do wash my hands before using it and it’s not that big of an issue (I have found out that there is a tube version of this mask however I can’t find anywhere I can buy it).

Overall this is a great overnight mask and it may even be suitable for all skin types, it has became a part of my permanent skincare closet and I’m probably going to compare all other sleeping masks to this one unless I find another one that is even better. Also it is under $15 which is an amazing price and I’ve been using it every single day for about a month and a half and I still have around a quarter of the jar left which is amazing.

Rating: 5/5

Pros: 

  • hydrates skin
  • leaves skin soft
  • great ingredients list
  • affordable

Cons: 

  • Jar packaging
  • can cause a sensation on very sensitive skin

Where to buy? 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

